David Black Award

Celebrates individuals and organisations that have made an outstanding impact on the British pig sector during the course of their work.

The David Black Award has been honouring exceptional contributions to the pig industry for over 60 years. Inspired by the East Anglian pig farmer of the same name, this prestigious accolade is awarded to an individual or organisation that has made an outstanding impact on the British Pig Sector through their work.

The award has previously celebrated those from across the industry, including producers, processors, academics and the allied industry. AHDB is proudly sponsoring the award again in 2020.

Nominations have closed. The winner will be announced at the National Pig Awards.

Angela Christison, AHDB Pork Strategy director and chair of the independent judging panel, commented: “The David Black Award has huge historic importance and is as relevant today as over 60 years ago. Excellent nutrition has never been so vital for the health and wellbeing of the nation, and so many are working hard to keep producing, processing and promoting English pig meat.

Celebrating the extraordinary impact of individuals or groups of people that represent the best of our industry is essential at any time, but never more so than in the current climate.

2019 Winner, Richard Lister

David Black Award winner praises antibiotic success as a team effort

PA chairman Richard Lister described the pig industry’s success in driving down antibiotic use as a team effort, after collecting the prestigious David Black Award. Mr Lister received the honour from AHDB Pork chair Mike Sheldon, who said he had demonstrated ‘pioneering leadership’ in helping to establish the first ever industry targets to encourage the responsible reduction of antibiotic usage, as part of the Responsible Use of Medicines in Agriculture (RUMA) Targets Task Force. “No other pig-producing European country has taken such a courageous approach to antibiotic stewardship with voluntary targets and we celebrate his contribution to this outstanding achievement,” Mr Sheldon said. “Richard has been a force for good, leading the way and demonstrating, on his own unit, the benefits of investment in health and biosecurity.” He added that Mr Lister leads the NPA ‘with a strong voice and remains determined to ensure the sector is represented fairly and accurately’. 

Mr Lister described the award as a ‘huge honour’, given the illustrious list of previous winners over the decades. He thanked all those involved in the ‘industry’s fantastic antibiotic reduction programme’, starting with ‘all the pig farmers out there and their vets who have driven this change’. He singled out Pig Veterinary Society (PVS) past-president Mark White, who he worked with on the task force, for his tremendous contribution to the process, and thanked those people who had given their expertise and time to sit on various groups that have helped drive the reductions, including the eMB-Pigs steering group. Mr Lister said the progress had changed perceptions of the industry, but stressed the job was far from complete. He and PVS president Richard Pearson are representing the pig sector on the reconvened RUMA task force to identify post-2020 pig sector targets. “A 60% reduction is a fantastic achievement, but there is undoubtedly a great deal more to be done,” he said.

David Black Award Recent Winners

2018 Mick Sloyan

2017 Charlie Allen

2016 Susanna Williamson

2015 Andrew Knowles

2014 Ladies in Pigs

2013 Pete Bown

2012 Heather Jenkins

2011 Paul Toplis

2010 Meryl Ward

2009 Prof Sandra Edward

© Lewis Business Media Ltd 2020. All rights reserved. Registered in England No. 07936273
Registered Office: Suite A, Arun House, Office Village, River Way, Uckfield, TN22 1SL
Entry Terms & Conditions | Website - Terms | Privacy & Cookie Policy